~*~* Hello There! *~*~

Hi, I’m Ginny, also known by my mom’s childhood nickname for me, Ginny Sheller.  I am a follower of Jesus Christ.  I found my home in the Catholic Church in 2005 and I will be forever grateful for the truth and beauty I found there.

I met my husband Jonny in the most unlikely of ways and we got married less than six months later.  I was twenty, he was twenty one.  I will confess that I was a bit of a wreck, and he was a bit of a rescuer.  We have been married now for sixteen years.  Ours is one of those “no one thought we’d make it” stories.

I’m mom to seven dear ones who range in age from baby to teen:  My first son was born with all sorts of intervention in a hospital when I was 22.  My last five babies were born at home.  One of my sons was born in the interior of Liberia in a little mud house.  After an 18 month adoption process he came home with us in January of 2009.  He is the child of my heart, and I can’t imagine life without him.

I have a degree in plant pathology from the University of Georgia, but I threw my career plans out the window when I looked into my firstborn’s face for the first time.  I’m not sure that all those student loans were worth it, but over the years I’ve grown to love my job as a homeschooling mama. (Okay, fine…on most days.)

We live in a 1500 square foot 200 year old farmhouse on two six acres.  It takes creativity and a lot of work to fit nine people in this little old house and remain sane and organized so usually I am a little insane and unorganized.  Trust me, I am not one of those “has it all together” types.

We are do it yourself-ers constantly renovating and improving on our old homestead using salvaged materials whenever we can.  We love old things, things with history.  We believe in eating real food, and raise a little of our own.  We maintain a very large organic raised bed garden that kicks my rear end every summer.  We have a flock of chickens and started keeping bees in 2012.  We currently have seven hives, and we added our first goats in early 2015.

I love to knit and I attribute the little bit of sanity that I still possess to late night knitting sessions when I probably should be sleeping.  Every Wednesday I share my current knitting project alongside whatever I happen to be reading that week and invite you to do the same if you’re into that sort of thing.  I call it the Yarn Along.

My family loves the outdoors and living in eastern Virginia. We enjoy hiking, exploring, and fossil hunting on the shores of the Potomac.  I love to share our adventures here.

We are a homeschooling family, and you can read a little about the way we homeschool, here.  Our little school evolves a little each year as I do my best to meet the unique needs of each of my children.

I am a sentimental, nostalgic, love everybody type, and if we ever met I would probably like you.  Thanks so much for taking the time to visit me here.

Love, Ginny

p.s.  You can find answers to frequently asked questions here.